Makeup · Reviews

CLINIQUE BEYOND PERFECTING FOUNDATION AND CONCEALER REVIEW

I’ve never tried makeup from this Clinique but heard great things about their beyond perfecting 2-in-1 foundation. There are 30 shades to choose from which is a lot but unfortunately for those of us with warm/yellow/peach undertones there isn’t much of a choice as majority of the shades are pink in undertone. I am in the shade 08- Golden neutral. The word neutral throws me off because neutral tones don’t work for my yellow undertone, but this is very much warm, so I am not sure why it’s labelled as ‘neutral’. Anyway let’s get into the review…

1162092-clinique-beyond-perfecting-foundation-and-concealer

The claims:

‘A foundation-and-concealer in one for a natural, beyond perfected look that lasts all day. Lightweight, moisturizing makeup covers thoroughly without clogging pores. Skin breathes comfortably, colour stays true, even through sweat and humidity. Due to the rich pigment level that enhances this flawless coverage makeup, shades may appear deeper when first applied. Leave the foundation to settle just for a few minutes, this will allow the high pigment in the formula to adapt to your skin tone which is why you get such a flawless perfected finish. Suitable for ALL skin types.’

Packaging & price:

I managed to get this from Debenhams with 10% off so I paid £22.50 for 30ml. The packaging is really nice and I don’t own a foundation that comes with a large doe foot applicator. It’s not hygienic for clients but for yourself it’s convenient and easy to apply. The applicator is definitely the USP for this foundation and the slanted tip allows you to easily spot conceal. 

Application:

I like to dot some all over my face and buff it in using a foundation brush or my BeautyBlender – depending on the type of coverage you want. If I were to buy more for my kit, I’d apply some on a palette then on my client!

I find this foundation dries quickly so you have to work really fast which isn’t a problem for me but if you aren’t used to working fast I’d recommend you work in sections.

I do really enjoy using the doe foot applicator, it makes it very easy to add extra coverage on targeted areas and it helps with not pumping out/pouring out too much and wasting product.

Texture and coverage:

I’d say this is a medium – full coverage foundation and the texture is lightweight. It’s not a thick formula like the Laura Mercier silk creme foundation and it’s not as runny as the Nars ADLW foundation. It’s a creamy yet lightweight texture that covers imperfections very easily. I didn’t need concealer or corrector under this foundation but I don’t apply foundation on/under my eye area. I did however test it under my eyes for the purpose of this review and it concealed the darkness under my eyes really well. What I noticed about this foundation is that the colour adapts to your skin tone. For example, when I apply it first it’s slight dark but after a few minutes it blends into my exact skin colour and when I applied it under my eyes it adapted to colour correct the darkness. So I can see this shade working for a lot of skin tones around the NC30 – NC40 shade range.

This foundation has a matte finish. If you have dry skin I can see this clinging onto dry patches, I’d recommend this for oily or normal skin types. If you have dry skin, I would recommend exfoliating and using a hydrating primer.

This foundation has no SPF and no titanium dioxide, there is no flashback, so it looks great in photos with no flashback. 

Longevity & wear:

I easily got about 6-7 hours of wear from it, it isn’t as flawless-all-day as some of my other foundations. I always look for foundations that stay put all day long because I don’t carry makeup around (other than lipstick) I don’t like blotting, so when I come across a foundation that allows me to get away without blotting in the day I fall in love. With this one however, I did have to blot after a few hours because my t-zone started getting oily.

All in all, I think it’s a nice foundation and my favourite thing about it is the applicator and the fact that it adapts to my skin tone.

If you have tried this foundation what are your thoughts?

Thank you for reading, R. x

2 thoughts on “CLINIQUE BEYOND PERFECTING FOUNDATION AND CONCEALER REVIEW

Leave a Reply

