Reviews · Skincare

Mario Badescu Acne Control Kit – Review

My skin has been crazy for over a month and I’m pretty sure it’s hormonal breakouts. I was so annoyed because even my colleagues were asking me what the hell is going on with my skin?!

I ordered the Mario Badescu Acne Control Kit from Beauty Bay in the hopes of this helping my skin calm down. On the website, the image of the kit is completely wrong and doesn’t match the products in the description! I had to triple check before I ordered. Here is the direct link to this kit but ignore the product images as they are wrong!

PLEASE NOTE – I added up everything individually and it works out cheaper to buy these products individually which is so strange because a set should be saving you more money but this doesn’t. You’re better off just purchasing the products on their own. I should have done the calculations before I ordered!

I have personally never suffered from acne, just hormonal breakouts or allergic reactions but nothing that lasted more than a week. So for my skin being horrible for so long was really concerning me.
img_5147

I stuck to using all Mario Badescu products from this kit for about a week and my skin cleared up Alhumdulilah! My skin honestly loves MB products and I am convinced I need everything from this brand. Below I have reviewed each product from the kit, with explanations of how I use them in hopes of this being helpful for some of you that are struggling with whiteheads and under the skin spots/bumps.


I start the routine with the Acne Facial Cleanser which is formulated with salicylic acid to help heal acne, soothe the skin and to prevent future breakouts. The face wash also contains aloe vera and chamomile which act as soothing agents to help calm inflammation. The cleanser is a gel consistency that I apply to slightly wet skin. It doesn’t foam up or lather, it feels like a milk cleanser. I massage this into my skin and remove with a wet face cloth. It’s a non-drying formula which I am so happy about! This doesn’t dry my skin out at all, in fact my skin feels supple and clean. The scent is odd, it’s a medicated scent that I can’t explain, it reminds me of hospitals lol. I don’t mind the scent because the product works wonders. It definitely calmed my skin down, cleared up my spots and helped with inflammation. The claims are genuinely true and I cannot recommend this enough. I used this cleanser morning and night for a week and my skin went back to normal Alhumdililah. Now I find myself reaching for this cleanser at night mainly on most nights as I continue to switch between cleansers. This way my skin stays clear and if it flares up again I strictly stick to this cleanser at night.


Let’s move on to the Special Cucumber Lotion which is a toner and the step after cleansing. This toner is formulated with 4% alcohol and cucumber extract. It is described to remove pore clogging residue, disinfect the skin’s surface and to thoroughly clean the skin to prevent future acne problems. It honestly does exactly that! I can smell the alcohol in it but it doesn’t dry out my skin. My skin instantly feels refreshed and clean. There aren’t 101 ingredients which is something I love about MB products, he uses minimal yet affective ingredients to solve & help skin concerns. The toner is non-drying and doesn’t irritate my skin, my skin just drinks this up and I absolutely love it! It’s so soothing, so if my skin is red or irritated I reach for this and it calms it down.


The kit comes with the cult favourite Drying Lotion which a fast acting spot treatment ‘formulated with salicylic acid, calamine and other quick-drying ingredients, this product will shrink ugly whiteheads virtually overnight while you sleep.’ I use this on any whiteheads or large over-the-skin spots to help shrink them overnight and it does work. There is a thick pink solution at the bottom with a clear liquid on top, DO NOT SHAKE THE BOTTLE. I use a cotton bud, dip it ONCE straight into the bottle and apply on the spot(s). DO NOT DOUBLE DIP as this will contaminate the product and have the reverse affect. It dries quickly and in the morning the spot(s) shrinks significantly.


Also included in the kit, is the Drying Cream which works similarly to the drying lotion but you massage this into your skin rather than letting it sit on top. A little goes a long way with this so don’t over do it because it’s a headache to rub in if you use too much. This is described as ‘an effective treatment to dry up small under the surface bumps and pimples. … Aloe rich cream conceals and heals erupted pimples. Apply sparingly on pimples by dabbing with fingertip until cream blends into the skin. Best when applied after moisturizer, before make-up’ The main difference between this and the drying lotion is that this is meant to be rubbed into the skin and absorbed instead of left on top. So you can use this under makeup, after your day cream. I was using this wrong! I was using this at night and skipping my normal night treatment and it made my skin SO dry and flaky! My makeup would peel in the morning because my skin dried out so much and this is because I was using it completely wrong lol. The correct way to use this is as described above which I would have known if I had read the product description properly! I use this in the morning now after moisturiser as a treatment if I have spots or under the skin bumps. You need the tiniest amount, literally a dot on the problem area, then rub it in till it’s absorbed and carry on with your routine as normal. So the way I use this when I need is to cleanse, tone, apply eye cream, apply my day moisturiser, this and then SPF and my makeup as normal.


The last product included in the kit is the Drying Mask which ‘is a Colloidal Sulfur based mask that reduces surface oils, calms existing acne and prevents future blemishes and breakouts. Soothing Calamine makes this mask safe and gentle for most skin types’ This is a fast drying, gunk sucking, spot killing mask. The best way I can describe it! It does as described and sucks the life out of breakouts. I leave this on for no more than 10 minutes because it dries really quickly. It doesn’t smell pleasant at all. But I am not fussy when it comes to skincare scents if they work. If you have back or chest acne you can use this there too! It’s a handy mask to have when my skin is at its worse. It is recommended by the brand that this is best when used as a companion product to the Mario Badescu Healing & Soothing Mask which I don’t have but will definitely order soon. 

This kit is £75 and contains:

  • Acne Facial Cleanser 177ml
  • Special Cucumber Lotion 236ml
  • Drying Mask 60ml
  • Drying Cream 14ml
  • Drying Lotion 29ml
  • Mario Badescu zip bag
  • Compact mirror
  • Bath sponge

The kit contains all full size products.

I can’t fault any product I have tried from this kit. I was unsure about the drying cream and it’s purpose as I have the drying lotion but this is because I was using it wrong as explained above. I love every single product and it’s nice knowing I have products to help my skin in time of need! I have received so many questions about all of these products on Instagram after showing you guys a few times on my story, so I hope this blog post answers questions you have.

Thank you for reading, R. x

One thought on “Mario Badescu Acne Control Kit – Review

Leave a Reply

