Makeup · Reviews

Estee Lauder Doublewear – My Love/Hate Relationship

I don’t know where to begin with this post.. If you have followed me from the beginning of my time on Social Media you will know how much I love Estee Lauder Double Wear. I think I first discovered it back in 2009 and fell in love with the finish, how it kept my teenage greasy face matte & how it looked overall.

Over the years I have used this foundation on and off but have never found my perfect shade. I struggle so much with finding my shade in this foundation it’s ridiculous! I was first matched to Honey Bronze which was wayyy too dark and extremely orange on my NC30/Stromboli skin tone. After that I was matched to Tawny which looked great swatched but once blended it was so pink on me! I went back and bought Cashew but it was orange. You can’t even imagine how frustrated I was. Finding a foundation that you love and looks amazing on your skin but not finding your colour was driving me nuts!

Fast forward to 2017 and trying many foundations that never compared to how great Estee Lauder DW looked on my skin, I spent hours researching swatches. Sounds excessive? this is how much I love the finish and wear of this foundation guys!

I ordered Rattan after several hours of research and I knew if this doesn’t match nothing else will! I was so excited when it arrived within a day and tried it.

It was yellow enough but was light for my skin. I was relieved to find it was warm enough and didn’t make me orange nor pink. However, if it was a shade darker it would have been perfect! I am honestly so frustrated and pray Estee Lauder release some more shades. A shade in-between Rattan and Cashew with a yellow undertone will be my perfect match!

I am contemplating buying Cashew and mixing Rattan + Cashew because I think that will = my perfect shade?… I have seen so many other people comment on the shade range and experience similar problems to me so I know I am not alone.

PROS:

  • Medium-full buildable coverage
  • Matte – perfect for oily skin
  • Looks absolutely flawless on
  • Stays flawless ALL DAY

CONS:

  • No shade matches me perfectly!
  • Causes flashback on camera

All in all, nothing compares to the flawless wear, finish and longevity of this foundation on my skin but the shade range is poor. All I can do is pray the Estee Lauder release new shades and create a RattanXCashew lovechild for my skin tone. Please God let Estee Lauder realise and create more shades please please please *thinks about if there is a petition for this*

Let me know your experience with this foundation and what shade you wear, especially if you struggled like me?! Thank you for reading and listening to me vent!

R. x

Leave a Reply

