Reviews · Skincare

The Ordinary Series (3) Hyaluronic Acid 2% + B5 – Review

I tend to find myself gravitating toward skincare containing Hyaluronic Acid more and more. This is because it is known for its anti-ageing and hydrating benefits. The science behind it explains its ability to add moisture to the skin, and a lot of it! After doing some research I found out that just 1 gram of Hyaluronic Acid can hold up to 6 litres of water and applying it to your skin = deeply hydrating your skin without adding too much water which can be a problem. Now the main factors for skin ageing is lack of moisture, do you see where I am going with this? The ability of Hyaluronic Acid to moisturise deep into the layers of your skin means your skin is hydrated, plumper, therefore youthful!

One molecule of Hyaluronic Acid can hold up to 1000x its weight in water and as we age, our body’s natural production of Hyaluronic Acid slows down which explains why a lot of skincare brands are adding this in their products and why I am beginning to hoard more and more products containing it.

Dermal Fillers use Hyaluronic Acid to plump the skin, so incorporating it into your routine will give you moisture without looking greasy & plump your skin to reduce signs of ageing. Are you with me?

Let’s move onto my thoughts on The Ordinary’s Hyaluronic Acid…

Retailing at just Β£5.90 this is the cheapest I have found on the market and Deciem describe it as:

‘Hyaluronic Acid, HA, can attract up to 1,000 times its weight in water. The molecular size of HA determines its depth of delivery in the skin. This formulation combines low, medium and high-molecular weight HA, as well as a next-generation HA crosspolymer at a combined concentration of 2% for multi-depth hydration in an oil-free formula.

Note: Hyaluronic Acid is found in the skin naturally but its natural function within the skin is not hydration. Many products have used HA to claim hydration benefits, but HA is too large a molecule to penetrate the skin and instead sits on the surface and can draw moisture out of the skin making the surface feel soft and hydrated temporarily, while making you feel like you need more HA after the product is rinsed. This formula uses three forms of HA with varying molecular weights, as well as an HA crosspolymer, to offer multi-depth hydration and visible plumping without drawing water out of the skin solely to improve temporary surface hydration.’ – Here is the direct link

Another win from The Ordinary in my opinion. I have not tried anything from this brand that I’ve disliked. I use this as the serum step of my morning and/or night routines. When I use this in the day my skin is well hydrated and produces less oil. When I use this at night, my skin is so smooth and soft in the morning.

This absorbs very quickly and feels slightly tacky, I let it sit for a few minutes before going in with my moisturiser/facial oil and viola! beautifully hydrated skin.

I would recommend this for all skin types. If you have oily skin don’t be put off! You will love this too because it absorbs quickly and doesn’t leave a greasy residue, you will also notice your skin producing less sebum because it’s well hydrated.

At Β£5.90 it is worth a try! 

Thank you for reading, R x

2 thoughts on “The Ordinary Series (3) Hyaluronic Acid 2% + B5 – Review

Leave a Reply

