haul · Reviews · Skincare

The Body Shop Drops of Light/Youth Liquid Peels – My Thoughts

The Body Shop have recently released these 2 liquid peels with a gel-to-peel technology and I ordered both to try them out.

What is a liquid peel?

Peels usually have a gel-like consistency and they are designed to exfoliate the top layer of the skin and remove dead skin cells as well as excess oil – so great if you have oily skin as well as dry skin! Peels are similar to physical exfoliators but it all depends on what you prefer. Some prefer a peel because it’s usually gentler on the skin than a gritty physical exfoliator and some prefer a physical exfoliator. Me on the other hand, being a product junkie and Blogger, likes both. If you refer to my skincare routine here you will see that I use skincare products on rotation, so having a variety to choose from is what I prefer and suits my skin best when I switch things up.

You can get a skin peel done at a salon which is usually stronger (and more expensive) or you can opt for at-home skin peels. So when The Body Shop came out with these 145ml bottles for £15 each (40% when I bought them so they went down to around £9 each) I had to try them.

Why are they great for dry and sensitive skin types? – they help with removing dead skin and dry patches. Peels rather than physical exfoliators are gentler on skin and you only need to use them once a week, so they are a good option if you have sensitive skin and don’t get on too well with gritty exfoliators.

Why are they great for oily and acne prone skin? – they help reduce excess oil and grime which can lead to break outs.

How to use – Apply on cleansed, dry skin once a week at least. If you have sensitive skin I recommend using this once a week otherwise you can use this 2-3 times a week depending on your skin. I wear makeup often so I exfoliate 2-3 times a week.

Let’s start with the Drops of Light Pure Resurfacing Liquid Peel

‘This quick fix brightening essential will visibly brighten appearance after first use. Transforming gel-to-peel technology that traps and gently peels off impurities and dead skin cells to unveil healthy-looking skin that feels resurfaced from first use*. With continued use, skin looks more luminous and skin texture looks refined.*’ – The Body Shop Website.

This peel is designed to brighten the skin, formulated with red algae and Vitamin C. The formula is a gel once applied but as you work it into your skin it turns into a peel which is a bit difficult to remove so I suggest you use a wet face cloth to remove it rather than rinse.

My thoughts – It says on the bottle to use 2 pumps on dry cleansed skin and massage for 20 seconds till clumps form. Which is exactly what I did and oh my… this definitely works at removing dead skin, I mean I could physically see and feel the dead skin forming clumps and coming off which sounds disgusting but this is what the product is supposed to do. Please note it’s not peeling your skin off (that would hurt so much), but simply exfoliating the dead skin off. 

I massaged this onto my skin for about half a minute and then I rinsed my face. I was left with noticeably softer and smoother skin. I am obsessed since the first use and this gets two thumbs up from me! 

Below are pictures I took to show you guys what happens when you rub the product in:

Moving on – Drops of Youth Liquid Peel

‘Exfoliates and gently peels off impurities from your skin, lifting dead skin cells and residuals. This revolutionary gel-to-peel leaves skin clean and purified from the day’s pollutants. Continued use will leave a fresh, smoother and more luminous youthful-looking skin.’ – The Body Shop Website

You use this the same way as mentioned above. The texture of this peel is slightly different and is targeted to acne prone/congested skin. 

My sister who has acne prone skin with acne scarring and pigmentation tried this with me and we both loved it! 

The texture feels slightly gritty at first but when you start rubbing it in, it doesn’t feel like gritty. In fact it feels the same as the other one and this also left my skin really soft and smooth after the first use. 

Another difference is that this one smells a lot more herbal but I expected that because it contains edelweiss, sea holly and criste marine.

The first night I used this I had small bumps all over my forehead from a product reaction with a few white heads and I woke up the following morning with those bumps almost all cleared up and no sign of the whiteheads! Amazing! My sister’s skin looked noticeably brighter too and she said that her makeup applied so much better. She also had a few breakouts that went down significantly after using this peel. 

I also noticed that my makeup base sits a lot nicer after using these peels. 

Both of them are amazing and I can’t say I have a preference because the green one is good if you have small bumps and spots whereas the white one is great overall for brightening the skin. I’m glad I have both in my collection because I love them equally. As compared to an actual salon skin peel they don’t sting or burn and didn’t leave my skin red. Some say these are gimmicky products and it’s not actually dead skin forming clumps. Who knows, they work well for me and leave my skin noticeably smoother, softer and brighter so I think they are good mild exfoliators that do definitely work at exfoliating the skin. 

If you have tried these peels let me know your thoughts and if you haven’t I highly recommend them! 

Thank you for reading, R. x

3 thoughts on “The Body Shop Drops of Light/Youth Liquid Peels – My Thoughts

Leave a Reply

