Makeup · Reviews

Milani 2-in-1 Conceal & Perfect Foundation – Review

I have been curious about this foundation after seeing it all over my Instagram so I thought I’d try it out for myself and let you guys know my thoughts. I ordered this when I found out Milani had a UK website and there was a 20% discount code on their site.

Described as ‘Conceal + Perfect 2-in-1 Foundation + Concealer. Combat under eye circles, redness and other skin imperfections with this full coverage, water-resistant foundation plus concealer in one. A no mess, no drip pump dispenses just the right amount of fluid needed to achieve a flawless look and works around the clock to keep skin looking naturally perfect!’Milanicosmetics.com

Let’s talk about the conceal and perfect claims. I’d say this is a medium – full coverage foundation which has a thick consistency. The consistency reminds me of the Laura Mercier silk crème foundation. It doesn’t conceal my dark circles at all and it’s probably because the colour match is not good for me.

I ordered shade 06 which isn’t warm enough for my skin tone. Once on my skin, it looks slightly green?! I have never experienced this issue before so I was a bit alarmed! Shade 06 very slightly dark for my skin tone and definitely not yellow enough for me. I still decided to try it out for you guys to test the formula and wear of it.

That being said, lets move onto the wear and longevity of this foundation. When I am reviewing products especially foundations, I like to really test them out so that I can give you a genuine and thorough review. Firstly the finish is satin. It isn’t matte and it isn’t dewy. So to me, it’s definitely a satin finish foundation.

img_2807

Without primer:

It wore terrible on me without primer, this foundation cracked and came off around my nose and chin. It also started wearing off everywhere else as the day went on and didn’t hold up very nicely at all! It also made me very oily.

With primer:

Now depending on which primer you use, it can vary in terms of longevity and it also depends on your skin type. I tried this with my YSL Blur primer that I adore and I had the same issues as I did without a primer. I tried it with my trust worthy Inglot matte primer and I still looked like I dipped my face in oil. I then wore it with my The Ordinary high-adherence primer reviewed here and it wore alot better! It didn’t fall apart around my nose or anywhere else as a matter of fact. It looked nice all day long and I honestly think it’s because of the primer but I hated how it felt on my skin because the foundation itself doesn’t hold up well at all. It’s awful otherwise!

Further notes:

Despite setting it really well, it still transferred very very easily. The slightest touch left indents and it came off.

It also broke me out guys! And as for the conceal part, the colour is so wrong for me it does not cancel out any pigmentation on my skin.

Pros:

  • Good coverage
  • I can see this working better for drier skin types
  • No flashback in photography

Cons:

  • Broke me out
  • Wrong colour for me
  • Transfers very easily
  • Makes me extremely oily
  • After a few hours I just want to wash my face, it just feels really congested on my skin. It’s hard to explain the feeling but just know that I don’t like how greasy it feels and sits on top of my skin and I want it off my face!

My verdict:

I’d pass on this foundation and I won’t be reusing it. A) because it broke me out and B) it makes me look slightly green which I still can’t understand?!

It just doesn’t look nice on me unless I use the high-adherence primer by The Ordinary but even then, I don’t like how congested it makes my skin feel. My skin does not like this foundation at all.

That concludes my review on this foundation. If it works for you then great but it was a fail for me.

Thank you for reading, R. x

Leave a Reply

