Makeup · Reviews

The Ordinary Series (1) High – Adherence Silicone Primer Review


The Ordinary is a brand that is more recently the talk of the Blogosphere. The founder of Deciem, creator of the brands NIOD, Hylamide and many more has created The Ordinary – high quality products without the price tag! Their range consists of serums, oils and primers with prices between £3-£12! I have been trying their products and I will review them individually under ‘The Ordinary Series’ this being number 1. 

You can read more about the brand and it’s creator here.

Today I want to talk about their High-Adherence Silicone Primer – £3.90 available here.

‘High Adherence Silicone Primer uses advanced adaptive silicones to act as a matte, hydrating, blurring primer for makeup that looks higher in definition and adheres for longer. The formula can also be used alone as a non-greasy hydrator that reduces the looks of pores and of imperfections’

My initial thoughts:

For £3.90 I had to try this primer for myself and let you guys know because I thought, if this is amazing you guys are going to benefit so much from a cheap but high performance primer and save a hell lot of money!

You get a nice amount for the price too – 30ml in a handy squeeze tube. The packaging, like the rest of their products is sleek and simple. I love it.

Now, I have tried many silicone primers and I expected it to have a clear, silicone texture that most of them do. I was surprised when I squeezed some out to see a white, cream-like texture without that silicone feel. 

My verdict:

I use a pea-size amount of this primer to cover my entire face (shown above). Priming is an essential part of my routine and one I cannot skip under any circumstances because foundation tends to always come off around my nose and I get oily on my t-zone without primer. It’s just how my skin is, I have dehydrated skin which is oily for the most part with dry under eyes.

Upon application it felt so smooth and really different to other silicone primers I have. My skin felt instantly hydrated and after a closer look -blurred, it was like Facetune! I was actually shocked to see how perfected it made my skin look. It absorbed rather quickly and my foundation applied so nicely over top.

My foundation went on like a dream and that too looked blurred, it was like real-life airbrushed skin. I also tried this primer purposely with a foundation that breaks up around my nose and one that I need to blot several times in the day with to really put it to test and guys, the foundation looked blurred all day long! The foundation didn’t come off around my nose, I didn’t need to blot numerous times in the day (I could actually get away with not blotting at all with this primer on!) and my skin still looked so smooth at the end of the day. I even went to the gym with this on to test it further and even after all that, it stayed put! I was so pleasantly surprised because my other expensive primers couldn’t keep this foundation on as good as this £3.90 primer did!

I tried this primer with all my other foundations and it worked just as well with them all! This is my current obsession and I cannot recommend it enough.

PROS:

  • Hydrating, doesn’t dry out my skin
  • Helps keep my t-zone matte for longer (I can get away with not blotting in the day with most of my foundations)
  • Absorbs quickly so I don’t have to wait a long time before going in with foundation (great if you’re in a rush like me)
  • Blurs imperfections
  • Foundation looks so smooth and blurred (like it’s airbrushed)!
  • SO cheap and you get a nice amount
  • Easily accessible in the UK
  • Didn’t break me out
  • Made my makeup stay in place all day
  • Tried it with a foundation that falls apart on me and with this primer, the foundation stayed flawless all day

CONS:

  • NONE!!!

 

If you have oily skin or just want a good blurring primer I highly recommend you to try this one! I completely agree with the high-adherence part too because it really helped my makeup adhere and stay in place all day long. I am so over the moon about how good this is and cheap. I am definitely going to stock up for my kit – and you guys know if I buy something for my kit I absolutely love it.

If you try this primer please let me know your thoughts, did it work for you? any feedback is appreciated.

Thank you for reading, R. x

13 thoughts on “The Ordinary Series (1) High – Adherence Silicone Primer Review

  1. Hi! I wonder how would you compare this primer to the Yves Saint Laurent Touche Éclat Blur Primer and your other favorite primers ? Is it just as good or not really?

    Like

    1. Lol! I want every product from this brand! I recommend the lactic acid 10%, Hyaluronic acid, vitamin c suspension & marula oil. I’m slowly growing my collection but so far all that I have tried I absolutely love!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. There will be a week where I’ll stick to the same night routine if I’m obsessed! Then I’ll change bits up because I get bored and my skin gets used to the same stuff.. not to mention that I’m a skincare junkie lol 🙈

        Liked by 1 person

    1. This works well with most of my foundations. I use it with urban decay all nighter, Mac SFF, EL double wear etc. I haven’t tried it with a water based foundation tbh I don’t tend to gravitate towards them. I do own Mac f&b and like it. Are there any water based foundations you recommend?

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

