Makeup · Reviews

Liquid Matte by Huda Beauty – My Review


I bought these a while ago when Cultbeauty restocked in September. The reason for my delayed review is simply because I couldn’t decide if I liked them or not and have been trialling them since.

I ordered 3 shades:

Bombshell – described as a subtle pinkish nude. (Wears more peach-nude on me)

Trendsetter – described as a stylish brown nude (True to description on me)

Heartbreaker – described as a man-eating pinkish red (Not sure about the man-eating part but wears true to the ‘pinkish red’ description on me)

The claims:

‘A highly comfortable, long wear liquid lipstick that dries matte with intense color pay-off and transfer-proof properties’. (more info on Sephora.com)

“I created these because I could never find a liquid lipstick that suited my needs. This formula is so light, it feels like you’re wearing nothing at all, but gives you a long-lasting, transfer-free finish in shades to die for.” – Huda Kattan

I have a lot of respect for Huda and have been following her for years. It’s so nice to see someone work hard, grow and create products. I have never tried her lashes or lip pencils but the liquid lipstick colours are so beautiful I had to try them. I have heard mixed reviews about her eye shadow palette so I’m not sure if I want to try it yet…

Anyway let’s move onto my thoughts about these liquid lipsticks…

The Price:

£18 which is a bit steep for this lipstick. More than Kat Von D, Gerard Cosmetics, Limecrime and Anastastia Beverly Hills. I do think it’s overpriced for what it is and I will explain why I think this in my review…

The Packaging:

The iconic packaging with her lips holding the lipstick is beautiful and I can see the effort put into making it unique and true to her style. I love it! I haven’t even thrown it away lol! Looks lovely on my vanity.

final-72

img_1388

The Scent:

I don’t like the smell at all. Some people love it, but for me it smells overpoweringly sweet. A softer vanilla sent would have been enough. 

The Formula:

This formula is highly raved about in the blogging world and the main reason I wanted to try these was because of this ‘new formula’ described as being lightweight, transfer proof and opaque.

When I first tried this formula, I was confused. I mean, it was definitely lightweight. It feels so light on the lips and I can’t feel it on at all! But I felt like it had come off (which it did, see under section ‘Staying power’).

It doesn’t dry as quickly as other liquid lipsticks I have (and I have a ton!) which is a pro and a con in my opinion because it gives you time to fix mistakes and really work with it. This is also a plus when layering or mixing shades. I don’t like how it feels a bit sticky though. 


Once completely dry I can still feel a slight tackiness. Not annoyingly sticky, but definitely a bit tacky. I guess this is because the formula is supposed to be ‘hydrating’. 

Another thing I want to mention is that usually with thinner/runnier formulas they tend to accentuate fine lines but this formula doesn’t. It doesn’t get flaky and it doesn’t highlight or settle into fine lines.

Pigment:

All 3 shades I have are opaque, easy to work with and not patchy at all. I have heard the darker shades are patchy but I have not tried them, Famous and Vixen look stunning but I have not tried them myself, therefore I cannot comment on the formula.

Application:

One swipe is really all you need. You don’t need to layer it at all unless you are mixing shades. The wand is a comfortable size and it’s easy to shape your lips with it. However, I always line my lips with lip pencil first. If you don’t use lip pencil it is still easy to create a shape with the applicator on these.

Staying power:

Roughly 3-4 hours. It is definitely not a liquid lipstick that stays put like the Kat Von D or Anastasia Beverly Hills ones. I do wish they lasted longer on the lips because for the price, I don’t want to reapply during the day as much as I have to with these and usually I can go all day without retouching a good liquid lipstick.

Pros:

  • Lightweight
  • Opaque
  • Buildable
  • Lovely packaging
  • Easy to apply – good applicator
  • Doesn’t bleed
  • Doesn’t accentuate fine lines
  • Hydrating formula, feels very comfortable on the lips

Cons:

  • Overpowering sweet scent
  • Not long lasting at all, just disappears after a few hours – my biggest con and one that really triggered my mixed review. If it wasn’t for this, I would absolutely love and recommend them.

 My Verdict:

Would I repurchase them? Only Bombshell unless I find a dupe but that’s because I really like the COLOUR. If you guys know any dupes for Bombshell please let me know!
I wasn’t blown away by the formula and longevity of these so when people ask me for liquid lipstick recommendation, these are not what I recommend. 

I have a mixed opinion on these hence why my review and final thoughts really took some time and testing. I wanted to give you guys my genuine review as I always do, these took a while longer for me to base an opinion on but I will say I love the lightweight feel of the formula, I just wished it was a longer lasting one.

All in all, I really like the packaging, colours and thin yet pigmented, comfortable formula of these liquid lipsticks. I do however wish they lasted longer on the lips for the £18 price tag. Reapplying during the day is annoying and my biggest con with these because it really drops the value of these liquid lipsticks for me. I’d say buy 1 you really like if you want to try it for yourself. 

I hope this review was helpful, if you have tried these I’d love to hear your thoughts!

Thank you for reading. R. x

One thought on “Liquid Matte by Huda Beauty – My Review

Leave a Reply

