Makeup · Reviews

Sleek Cleopatra’s Kiss Highlighting Palette

I have no control when it comes to buying highlighters, especially gold highlighters. 50 shades of gold and then I might feel content?

When I saw Sleek’s highlighting palette in Cleopatra’s Kiss all over Instagram, it had to be mine!
First of all, the packaging itself is gold and it’s just so sleek (no pun intended!) Comes with a mirror and a mini brush which I will never use.

The palette consists of two cream shades (Delta & Dynasty) and two baked powder shades (Sphinx & Goddess). The creams are perfect for a luminous sheen and the powders give a dramatic, metallic finish to the skin. Combined, they’ll give you that Amrezy glow (is the best way I can describe it!)

How to use: Apply on the cheekbones, bridge of the nose, collar bones, cupids bow, tear duct and brow bone.

What I love about this palette is how versatile it is. Depending on what you prefer, you can use the creams alone, the powders alone. You can also use this palette on the eyes and the body. I also love that the creams are not thick, they glide on like butter and are easily blendable. The creams did not swatch nicely, when I swatched them they were choppy and thought they would look patchy. But once applied and blended they were really nice and not patchy. The powders swatched glittery but once blended they were really nice.

The baked powders are not that great applied alone. Applied wet they are incredible alone! Just spritz your brush with some Mac Fix+ and apply the powders for a metallic sheen.

The best way to use this is with the creams as a base or wet if you want to use the powders alone. And by wet I mean sprayed with Fix+, not drench in water because that will just be a mess…

Alone, the powders get everywhere and it’s not pretty!

At around £10 I think this palette is a bargain! Available at Superdrug, Boots and I got mine from Feelunique.

Swatches:


Sphinx – True bronze-gold baked shade

Delta – Cream bronze-gold

Dynasty – Cream yellow-gold

Goddess – Champaign pink

*They apply and look better on the skin once blended than swatched.

Below is a picture of me wearing Delta as the cream base with Sphinx on top:


Pros:

  • Affordable
  • Works well on the face and body
  • Comes with two creams and two baked shades that can be used alone or combined which makes it versatile
  • Buildable without getting cakey
  • I can see this working well for a wide range of skin tones

wp-1474054067014.jpg

Cons:

  • Powders alone aren’t great, messy and glittery if used alone. But to correct this please see my tip above
  • Brush is useless, they could have added another shade in that space (just saying)…
  • The powders aren’t the best baked highlighter formula (I definitely prefer the Laura Geller baked highlighters) but for the price, they are okay and look nice on with the base

My verdict: It’s a great palette to have especially if you are a hoarder like myself. It’s also handy to have in your kit if you freelance like I do because it will suit a lot of complexions. The formula of the baked shades could be a lot better but like I said, for the price and it being a high street brand, it isn’t awful.

If you have this palette or any of the other Sleek highlighting palettes, what are your thoughts?

Thank you for reading, R. x

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

