Makeup · Reviews

Urban Decay Naked Skin Ultra Definition Powder Foundation – Review

I absolutely love my Mac Studio Fix powder foundation to set and perfect my under eye highlight and base when I want a flawless, blurred and perfected makeup look. The Mac powder has been a staple in my kit since I first started freelancing in 2010. I don’t want to say this, but this UD powder foundation might be better!

‘Want a foundation that delivers amazing coverage, lasts all day and works both wet AND dry? Naked Skin Ultra Definition Powder Foundation delivers. Our advanced, velvety formula provides weightless, buildable coverage with a luminous, demi-matte finish for a Naked Skin feel’ – UD

Amazing coverage and long lasting? I was sold!

At £26, I bought the shade Medium Light Warm; a perfect yellow toned shade which turned out to be very close to my skin tone, so doesn’t work great for the bright under eye look that I like… I am making it work for now, till I get another one at least 2 shades lighter. 

Let’s just take a moment to admire the packaging before I get into the actual product review…

The UD gunmetal packaging is beautiful and what makes it better is the cute purple pouch it comes in which is always handy to chuck in your handbag and not worry about scratching or ruining the metal.

I usually throw away the sponge applicators that powder foundations come with, but this one is actually really good for blotting and touching up! it doesn’t move product about or mess up the makeup underneath, so it’s definitely a handy little thing to have.

Okay on to the actual product… The powder is so smooth and buttery. It’s full coverage and definitely blurs the skin for that airbrushed look. I haven’t tried to use it wet and probably won’t. That is just my personal preference. I don’t use powder foundations as foundations… I use them to set and complete a full coverage, flawless makeup look. I do go heavy with setting powders because I really lock the base in place! I finish everything off with a hydrating facial spray so it never looks ‘cakey’.

In the picture above I have used this to set my under eye concealer and it did last all day, blurred any fine lines and didn’t get cakey or crumbly. It really did lock my concealer in place. The image above is not altered in any way,  I want you guys to see how amazing it made my under eye look without filters or airbrushing apps!

Because the colour isn’t light enough for my under eye area, I use this now to set the rest of my face and touch up when I get oily throughout the day. It sets everything so well, doesn’t ever get cakey or flaky. If my foundation sometimes settles into fine lines that I get between my eyebrows, I use this to just pat lightly on top and it looks seamless again!

Despite this powder being full coverage it doesn’t feel heavy on the skin. As described on the website it definitely feels velvety and weightless. Two thumbs up from me!

I need to get a few shades lighter for my under eye and some more colours for my kit – yes it’s that good and you all know if I love something, I buy more for my kit! Only the best for my clients.

Pros:

-full coverage 

– lasts all day 

– doesn’t crack, crumble or flake 

– great colours with nice undertones 

– a little goes a LONG way

– packaging is sturdy and pretty

Cons:

– I cannot fault this product in anyway so none!

Side note – Urban Decay are coming out with a new ‘All-nighter’ foundation described as a long-lasting, full – coverage foundation. So I definitely will be trying that!

Thank you for reading, R x

2 thoughts on “Urban Decay Naked Skin Ultra Definition Powder Foundation – Review

  1. Pingback: 2016 Top 10!

Leave a Reply

