Makeup · Reviews

Laura Mercier Silk Creme Foundation Review (Oil-Free)

FullSizeRender (2)

Hi Guys! I am finally going to review the Laura Mercier Silk Crème Foundation. I picked mine up from House of Fraser and I am in the shade ‘Cashew Beige’ which is the perfect match for me. For reference – I am NC37-NC40 in Mac.

Now I REALLY  like to put products through obstacles before I review them. I don’t think it’s fair for me to just base a review off a first impression or the first time I use it… I would rather wait a little longer; try it with different primers/no primer, wear it for a whole working day, to the gym and long enough to know how my skin reacts to (if it reacts).

First things first, the packaging:

The foundation comes in a squeeze tube – which is handy and not as messy. I find I have more control of how much product comes out this way. You get 30ml which is not a lot but I guess they can get away with it because the product is full coverage and you really don’t need a lot? Still, I would prefer at least 50ml for the £35 price tag.

The consistency:

It is quite thick, it isn’t runny like Nars ADWL. The consistency reminds me a lot of Mac Studio Sculpt – yes that exactly what the consistency is like! I really like it because you can really play with it and melt it into the skin – it is very easy to blend and build.

Application:

I tried the foundation 3 ways…

1) with a damp beauty blender – This is a foolproof method for an even, flawless face. I personally use the black beauty blender because it does not sheer the foundation out as much as the pink one does.

2) with a buffing brush – very similar finish to the beauty blender. The foundation didn’t look any different to the above application method.

3) this is way I love to apply foundation – I use a flat concealer brush (I use my Mac 195. You can also use a flat foundation brush if you want) to paint strips of the foundation on my face and then start blending out with the same brush. I then go over top with my damp beauty blender lightly to achieve that  airbrushed finish I’m oh so addicted to since I started using the beauty blender and it looks FLAWLESS. This method also does not use up as much product as the above 2 methods yet still provides full coverage. If you need to build it more, simply paint on some more on the areas you need it and blend again. So basically repeat the method as required.

The finish and wear:

I bought the oil-free version of this foundation because I have oily skin and the finish on me is semi-matte. I don’t even need to set it (I will get into more detail in just a second) It is definitely full coverage and can be medium when used with a buffing brush and beauty blending (first and second way under the application section)

Without a primer and without setting it – Applied on cleansed and moisturised skin: It wore for 12+hours and stayed put through my office hours and gym schedule. I did have to blot through the day and blot a lot during gym but it didn’t crease or budge!

With a pore minimizing primer and without setting it – kept my skin less oily especially around the nose and chin area. I only had to blot after my gym session.

With a primer and setting powder – I kid you not, this foundation once set, did not budge! it survived 10 hours of my work day, cardio, weights and I only blotted after gym.

 

Other notes:

*When I say blot after gym it’s because I sweat like a tap and obviously have to blot lol otherwise I don’t feel the need to blot once set.

*This foundation is definitely long-wearing which is HUGE thumbs up for me because I need my foundations to last me a whole day.

*Flash photography – the flashback is not too bad with this foundation (there is no SPF in the ingredients) I will insert a picture below my friend took of me with an iPhone flash so you can see for yourself…

FullSizeRender (1)

*Despite the coverage being medium-full it looks very skin like – no cakeyness at all 😀

*It also does not feel heavy on the skin or like a mask!

*My skin did not react to the ingredients in the foundation negatively. I didn’t break out from it thank God.

 

Pros:

-Squeeze tube – easy to control how much product you want to use

– Longevity – 12+hours

-Coverage – Medium-Full

-Colour match is perfect – Cashew Beige for NC37-NC40 skin tones

-Photographs well even with flash

– Provides a flawless finish without feeling cakey or heavy on the skin

Cons:

-Size (30ml for £35)

I literally have no other cons!

This is easily my current favourite foundation *Hoorah* I have not had a favourite foundation in a very long time. This has taken the title!

I highly recommend you try it out if you have oily skin like I do and love a flawless face that photographs well and stays put ALL DAY.

& just to finish off this post… I hope those of you celebrating Christmas have a good one with your loved ones. Please stay safe during Boxing day and New Years!

1

(Picture taken with front camera, SnapChat front flash and indoor lighting)

With Love, R x

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

